IEEE Day Celebration and Annual General Meeting organized by IEEE Gujarat Section

Morning Session:

The event began at 11:30 AM, and before the session started, all attendees were warmly welcomed. Snacks were provided to ensure everyone was energized and comfortable.

The highlight of the morning session was a talk by Shri. Arup R. Dasgupta, a retired expert from SAC – ISRO. Sir spoke on the topic “Space – A Universe of Opportunities”. Using a presentation, sir discussed various aspects of space science and technology. This included India’s achievements in space, challenges faced in the field, ongoing space research, and Indian space policy. Sir also highlighted the growing presence of startups in the space industry. Following the talk, there was an interactive Q&A session. Attendees had the opportunity to ask questions and engage in a discussion with the guest speaker.
The morning session concluded with a felicitation ceremony for the guest speaker, conducted by Dr. Kiran Amin sir, Chair, IEEE Gujarat Section, who acknowledged the valuable insights shared by Shri. Arup R. Dasgupta.

Lunch Break:

Following the informative morning session, the attendees enjoyed a delectable lunch.

Afternoon Session:

The formal Annual General Meeting commenced after lunch.
Dr. Kiran Amin sir, chair of IEEE Gujarat Section, extended warm greetings to all participants. He expressed his appreciation for the dedicated efforts of individuals contributing to the community.

Prof. Ashish Phophalia, secretary, IEEE Gujarat Section, presented a comprehensive progress report of IEEE Gujarat Section. The report covered the executive committee for the year 2023, the advisory committee, and highlighted various chapters and affinity groups operating under IEEE. The total membership strength was reported as 1727 members. Prof. Ashish Phophalia also discussed opportunities, including awards, available for IEEE members. The progress report also included a summary of activities conducted throughout the year, with a focus on major technical events. Upcoming events to be organized by the section were also announced.

Following the section progress report, Prof. R. B. Jadeja announced the executive committee for the year 2024 for IEEE Gujarat Section. The positions are as follows:

• Dr. Kiran Amin: Chair
• Dr. Chirag N. Paunwala: Vice Chair
• Dr. Anjali Diwan: Secretary
• Dr. Manisha Shah: Treasurer

The AGM concluded with an open discussion, allowing attendees to share their thoughts and ideas.