Installation Ceremony of IEEE Computer Society and IEEE DAY Celebration

Date: 7 October 2023

Time: 2:00- 3:00 PM

Name of Activity: Installation Ceremony of IEEE Computer Society and IEEE DAY Celebration

Event Details:

The 2023 Installation Ceremony of the IEEE Computer Society, in collaboration with the IEEE Student Branch (IEEE SB) and the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society Student Branch (IEEE CIS SBC) G. H. Raisoni College of Engineering, Nagpur, was an overwhelming success. The event featured esteemed guests, including our mentor and Director of GHRCE, Dr. Sachin Untawale; our Special Guest, Mr. Arvind Kumar, Centre Head of TCS Nagpur, who held the position of the Vice Chairman and subsequently Chapter Chairman of the Computer Society of India, as well as Vice Chairman and subsequently Chairman for IEEE Nagpur Subsection. Last year, he was the Chair – Industry Relations in IEEE Bombay Section; Chapter Advisor and Head of the CSE Department Dr. Snehlata Dongre; and several other distinguished dignitaries.

The 2023 Installation Ceremony began with an inspiring speech by our esteemed Director of GHRCE, Dr. Sachin Untawale. He addressed the audience, highlighting the rapid changes in technology and their implications for the future. Dr. Untawale motivated the attendees by emphasizing the crucial role of computer societies in adapting to these changes and staying at the forefront of innovation.

Following Dr. Untawale’s motivating address, our guest of honor, Mr. Arvind Kumar, the Centre Head of TCS Nagpur, took the stage. Mr. Kumar delivered an enlightening speech emphasizing the significance of communication and exploration within the IEEE community. He stressed the importance of seizing opportunities and encouraged everyone to maintain a continuous learning mindset, reminding the audience that knowledge can be gained from anywhere and everywhere.                                                                           

During the committee installation ceremony, batches were distributed to each member of the IEEE SB Branch, IEEE CS Chapter, and IEEE CIS Chapter. Mr. Anshul Sambhare, Chair of IEEE SB Branch; Mr. Laabhansh Jaiswal, Chair of IEEE CS Chapter; and Mr. Shrishail Mungse, Chair of IEEE CIS Chapter explained their upcoming plans and programs, and expressed their gratitude to the seniors who guided them during their tenure in the societies. The celebration also included a cake-cutting ceremony and a photo session with the distinguished guests.

Former IEEE chapter chairs, Miss. Sanskruti Satpute, IEEE CS Chair, and Miss. Samiksha Bharti, IEEE CIS Chair, was also in attendance. Their presence added a sense of continuity and served as a symbol of their past leadership contributions to the IEEE community. Their valuable experiences and insights from their past roles likely served as an inspiration to the newly installed committee members, reinforcing the legacy and tradition of excellence within the IEEE chapters at G. H. Raisoni College of Engineering, Nagpur.

In conclusion, a heartfelt vote of thanks was extended to all the guests, faculty members, volunteers, and attendees for making the event a memorable and enlightening experience. The 2023 Installation Ceremony reaffirmed the commitment of IEEE members to fostering innovation and professional growth.